Review:Proscan Tablet Computer PLT7044K (Big Lots)

Update June 18, 2013: I am not quite sure yet, but it looks like there is a battery problem with the Proscan PLT7044K I bought at Big Lots. It seems that every time I turn it on, it is dead. If I want to use it, I have to charge it first. That is interesting, because I also have a Curtis KLU, which is made by the same company, and that battery holds a charge for a couple of weeks, and every time I turn on the Curtis, the battery is near full charge.

Update 3-19-2013: I really like the Proscan case and keyboard. Today I noticed that the three tabs for mounting the tablet have an added feature. The top tab is spring loaded, so it can be moved up to attach the tablet to the case. So, now I don’t have the problem I mentioned in my review. In fact, I am very happy with the case and keyboard. I think that when shopping around, that a case would be $10 and the keyboard would be $20 (or more), so that makes the Proscan Tablet even a better deal.

I am fairly new to Android Tablets. I have been using computers for many years, and have many different types of computers, which I have used extensively for math and statistics. One of the things I want to know is if Android tablets have their place in my collection.

The answer I would like to provide is a hearty “YES”.

In the past, the reviews always said that they liked a small unit, but it was hard to read. They also liked a bigger unit, because they are easier to read. So, there is a constant tug where the one says the unit is small, but hard to read, etc.

I have a 7 inch Proscan PLT7044K which I bought yesterday. I decided to get it because it comes with a Case-Keyboard, which obviously includes the keyboard. The reason I opted for that is because I was looking at Amazon for an “Android Keyboard”, and they cost from $20 on-up. In the reviews, the comments often said “…and it even works!”

The problem I have with this is that I really don’t want to spend a lot of time figuring that out. Maybe I just want to start typing, not sitting there thinking, because even if I have a keyboard, it is still a lot of work to figure out everything.

And then the Word Processor thing bothers me. If I get the keyboard working, do I then have to get a Word Processor? Which one? What do they cost? So, maybe if I get the PLT7044K, maybe it will all work together.

The first thing I was interested in is the battery and charging system, because I am interested in the Boeing 787 Battery problems. The battery in the Proscan is a Li-Po Lithium Polymer battery, such as used in model airplanes, because they are lightweight, last a long time, and recharge quickly. I connected the charger to the tablet, and it started working just fine. The battery on the Proscan is discharged when you get it, so it needs to be charged, unlike the Curtis KLU LT8036, which comes charged from the factory.

Being new to tablets, I would like to say that I like the startup screen. And the way the screen changes when it is moved vertically. It is easier to read the news when the screen is horizontal…

I then used the tablet to watch YouTube, and it worked better than the 8 inch Curtis unit, I don’t know why. I think that they have the same specifications, so they should work the same. My opinion is that the Proscan is great for YouTube, because I can now listen to the Rolling Stones and Marianne Faithfull all day.

So, now, lets attach the keyboard to the tablet to see if it works. You connect the connector directly to the Proscan, so that is easy. It is obvious that the first thing you notice is that “calculator” is on the startup screen, so I decided to try that. If you try to “attach” the tablet to the carrying case, you try to use the three tabs, two at the bottom and one at the top. But they do not work correctly, you cannot slide the tablet sideways, and you cannot put it into place from the front. So basically, you just set the tablet on top of the two bottom tabs, and use it. Maybe I will figure out how to do this later, but at this time, the tablet does not want to install into the case. After some thought, I discovered that the tablet fits into the case if the tablet is upside down. This will be OK for traveling, and you just remove the tablet and place it right-side up on the two lower tabs. So, it will work OK.

So then I tried to do some calculations. The keyboard works, but it seems to be better to just tap the screen instead. The keyboard may be used for numbers, but I prefer to use the screen at this time for numbers.

Next, I will try to figure out how to type a document.

Tim2v2@hotmail.com

About tim2v

System Of Systems Engineer who has worked on National Missile Defense at Boeing and Lockheed. Patenting and Licensing, working with the Orange County Inventors Forum. Current emphasis is on financing innovations. Product Development is very complex. And getting them financed and manufactured is even harder. Solidworks, Rapid Prototyping Irvine CA. Designing new products and innovations.
This entry was posted in 2013, Airplanes, cars, energy, ford, gun, history, Inventing, Launch, Product Development, reliability engineer, Rockets, safety, Sustainability, Uncategorized, walmart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review:Proscan Tablet Computer PLT7044K (Big Lots)

  1. Frank says:

    Just bend the top back a little and it will pop right into the case for you. I purchased one of these today.

  2. Desiree says:

    I have had this device for almost a month. The other day I was trying to download a .pdf document. That takes an act of Congress and an act of God and I still can’t get Adobe .pdf to work. If you have any ideas on how to do so, please let me know. Thanks.

  3. D. Frank Robinson says:

    I installed Kingsoft office suite and it works just fine. I use one or two pencils to tap the keys and tap don’t’ linger or you’ll get lots of bounceeeeeee. Now I need a VOIP app. Still looking.

  4. mnss says:

    i got the 8in proscan tab with 7in screen for my son and i can not find a case to fit it because of the silver bar at bottom. can u please tell me where u got your case. thank you

    • tim2v says:

      Hi,
      i am having the same problem. the 7 inch Proscan has a keyboard with it, that is why I bought it. I also have an 8 inch curtis KLU, and do nor have a keyboard for it yet.

  5. lorena says:

    I’m having trouble connection to wifi my table seems to have weak single, I also need a connecter to my pc, where do I buy one so that I can connect it to my lap top?

Leave a Reply

